What to Know about OK's New Opioid Laws - Eastern Oklahoma VA Health Care System
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Eastern Oklahoma VA Health Care System

 

What to Know about OK's New Opioid Laws

Pills

Learn more about Oklahoma's new opioid prescribing laws.

By EOVAHCS Public Affairs
Thursday, November 1, 2018

Do you or someone you know take prescription opioids? Oklahoma’s opioid prescribing laws changed on November 1, 2018.

Learn what this means for you. Some very basic information to know:

  • Senate Bill 1446 will take effect on November 1, 2018
  • Under this law, new opioid prescriptions will require an office visit and your provider will only be able to prescribe a 7 day supply at the lowest effective dose
  • Patients prescribed opioids or Schedule II controlled substances for chronic pain will be required to enter into a pain management agreement with their providers which must be reviewed at least every 90 days before these prescriptions can be refilled
  • As a Veteran receiving care at our VA, you may already be doing these things but please contact your provider if you have questions or concerns about how you may be impacted by the new law

Several resources are available to you:

Share



Get Updates

Subscribe to Receive
Email Updates